[Search tip detail and code files using keywords, tip number, author name, etc ]
 
Oops without Oops
Tip# 3672 By Davin Hatley On 20-Jun-2011
0
Rated By 0 users
Categories : 2D Operations
Software type : AutoCAD 2012
Rename File To : No Files to download.
This tipster expands upon another tip, "Oops — on Purpose."

Davin D. Hatley sent us a tip as a response to Tip no. 3657, "Oops — On Purpose" that demonstrates another method to clear up your working area using the Oops command.

"I have found a couple different ways to get a similar result. These tips have saved me more than once! One way is to utilize the Copy/Paste commands. Especially when I realize that I've accidentally deleted something important just a few steps back, at the point where 'Oops' is no longer a viable option. I copy all of the recent work that I have done onto the Clipboard, then I Undo until I find what I need. Once I've gotten back the needed data, I paste all my changes, and delete any duplicate items, so that in the end, I haven't lost any work. I've also been known to utilize the Save As command, when there is too much data to copy and paste. I just Qsave the current file as it is, then I Save As the current drawing to a temporary or junk drawing. Then I Undo back far enough to retrieve the desired data. Once I find the desired data, I copy the said data onto the Clipboard, and paste it back into the original drawing. Another good resource to retrieve old or lost data from drawings is the Automatic Save files and Backup files."
 
Notes from Cadalyst Tip Patrol: The Copy/Paste trick here is a good one. Just copy (Windows Copy, not the AutoCAD Copy command) what you want to save and use the Undo command to get things back to where it was. This will not Undo your Copy, so that data is frozen in time, or until it is erased from the Windows Clipboard. I've also used the Save As trick. I used it when I realized I was working in the wrong file. I didn't want to overwrite the current file, but really wanted to make the changes in a new version. Save the file, then Save As. I can Undo everything in the Save As file to get it back to the state I need it, but I didn't lose my work in the Save file. Just rename the files once everything is right, if you need to.

 

Average Rating:
0


User comments
Comment by millett,skipp
Posted on 2011-06-20 14:05:33
I will also sometimes open the file again "read only" assuming I haven't saved in a bit. Copy out what I need from the ~15 minute old file and you are good to go.
Comment by Azbell,Nicholas
Posted on 2011-06-20 14:05:36
Check out "revert." The file automatically reverts to the last saved point. Kind of a close and open quickie.


Log In